Healandlove
Senior Contributor

Dealing with micromanager

I am not sure if this is the correct place to post this in this forum.

I have a new manager at work and she is an anxious micromanager.  My previous manager was so lovely and supportive. I think if I hadn't had him as a manager I would have lost my job with everything I deal with at home with husband with cptsd, family estrangement,  protecting my kids etc.

I feel that with this new micromanager, it is yet another person I have to support mentally (I understand micromanaging comes from a place of fear, insecurity and anxiety). Any tips dealing with this? I guess I can't take another psychological load. I can't change jobs either at the moment so I am stuck with this lady. There's also no option to tell her about my struggles at home. Another team member is going through looking after her husband who is in palliative care and this manager had been less than supportive. 

I'm tired 😢.

@tyme @Shaz51 @PizzaMondo @RiverSeal @Glisten @PeppyPatti 

23 REPLIES 23

Re: Dealing with micromanager

@Healandlove you poor person. I’m a buffalo 🦬 When there’s a storm coming, buffalos run towards the storm to get through it.

Because you can’t out run a storm.

You can’t get shot for asking a question or saying how you feel.

You can ask “How do you describe your management style?”

You can also say “Micromanagement makes me feel …….”

Odds are HR will keep shifting this woman sideways because they can’t get rid of her. Now you have to put up with her.

Good luck G

@Glisten , thank you for your response. I like that you are a Buffalo! I am working towards becoming a phoenix. 

I have already asked her about her management style and of course she said all the right things, gives autonomy, servant leaders,  empowering staff blah blah blah but in practice she is the opposite.  

HR won't care. Have to tread carefully in the corporate world.