Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

MsCareALot
New Contributor

4 loved ones mentally ill at the same time :( <3

Hello there,

This is my first time posting here, thanks for reading.

Right now, I think I am experiencing carer's burnout or something.

I am from a big, loving family (I have 2 brothers and 3 sisters) but mentall illness runs through my family.  I have had issues with my mental health but I saught help about it many years ago (in my late 20s) and have been seeing a psychologist for many years and am very careful to manage it and stay on top of it.  But right now, I am feeling overwhelmed.

One of my sisters and one of my brothers are both currently going through major depression/anxiety/mental breakdown episodes, my Dad is in hospital with physical issues and rapidly declining mental health (dementia and anxiety attacks) and my best friend of 20 years is suicidally depressed.  I think I am quite strong mentally and I have studied psychology and done counselling in the past so I tend to step into this crisis situations and know how to help people out of them. But it's all happening at once right now and I'm struggling to cope.  I'm doing my very best to look after myself, and everyone keeps reminding me to look after myself, but it's really hard - you know?