Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Elli-G
Casual Contributor

Borderline getting by

Content note: post includes suicide, self-harm, self-hatred, and probably a few others I haven't thought of. Please take care of yourselves.

Hey all, I figured I'd put together a little bit about me and where I'm at. What brings me here and all that. 

I've struggled with my mental health all my life, but at the end of last year things took a turn for the worst and I ended up suicidal and self-harming. I have a lot of hatred for myself, and have a very hard time accepting where I am and who I am. Accepting, and even knowing, really. 

I started studying again last year after a few years away, and I found something I love more than I even thought I could love something. But that brings with it fear of failing at it, and a sense of not being good enough. Which is difficult, and can make me feel hopeless; like I will never succeed at this thing that I love so much. 

I also started seeing a psychologist for the first time last year. Initially I just wanted to give up some old habits that weren't serving me too great, but it turned out that those habits were actually how I coped with anxiety about my situation in life. That anxiety turned out to be much stronger than I thought it was, and I started having weekends where I couldn't get out of bed.