Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Queenie
Community Elder

Life Stress

How does everyone seemingly cope with life stress? I don't seem to be able to very well at all. I can't work because I cannot tolerate stress mentally and physically. I cannot tolerate close interpersonal relationships very well because I can become easily stressed and/or take negative comments personally. I can barely handle my affairs due to the stress involved in just daily living... making sure I take medications, eat, shower, dress, schedule and go to appointments. I feel so stupid sometimes and even that stresses me out (I try to look as intelligent as possible and despite having a high IQ, I feel stupid when I am studying because I cannot manage stress). 

Some examples of this are as follows. Next week I have an appointment with a recovery based organisation to hopefully get more support for myself in the community. I submitted the referral in February and despite being told it is only a 2-month wait, I've only now been called up 5 months later. I get stressed because this means I will need to apply for support via the NDIS, which is incredibly stressful. My Mrs is hoping to get some help with it by way of her carer's counsellor for the paperwork and assessments. I am also stressing because one of the known outcomes of this organisation is pushing people into work (volunteer or paid employment). I want to study, so I am not sure that I will fulfil their criteria to obtain any sort of support.