Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

jiggles
Casual Contributor

overwhelmed and emotionally drained.

I've been caring for my partner of 8 years who has bipolar , PTY, diabetes , fybromyalgia, sickle cell, anxiety disorders and so far that's all he's been diagnosed with but still ongoing.
He doesn't work and is on a pension . I've worked full time this whole time and all he contributes financially is with half the rent. All other living expenses , loans, bills are all taken care of by me. ( he's hopeless with money and compulsively buys things on impulse) . Lately his aggression has gotten worse and today he has a full mental snap. Something simple like a driver cutting him off or tailgating will set him off then it's a snowball effect. So my 2 days off are spent running around with him , treading on eggshells so to not set him off but now it's happening all the time. I'm so overwhelmed and so emotionally exhausted . Financially day to day I struggle with no help at all and I'm swimming In debt.. but now it's his outbursts and episodes that have me in fear and an emotional wreck. I know it sounds selfish.. but I've put him first for 8 years only to have him shit all over me so to speak.. not intentionally I believe ... but it Hurts like hell and I'm sick if crying . Through his tantrums he's alienated most of our friends and whilst he says he prefers his own company. . Ive got no one ... so the last few months when's he's been bad.. I have no one to reach out to or vent to as having mental illness most people in the past say I should just leave... how do I cope when he has a meltdown?

6 REPLIES 6

Re: overwhelmed and emotionally drained.

Oh @jiggles